Roman Numerals

I started recalling roman numerals  when I visited Chicago public library. I immediately realized that it was arduous task to figure the number out. My roman number skills were blunt; it demanded an immediate attention to log forgotten number system.

  ×1 ×2 ×3 ×4 ×5 ×6 ×7 ×8 ×9
Ones I II III IV V VI VII VIII IX
Tens X XX XXX XL L LX LXX LXXX XC
Hundreds C CC CCC CD D DC DCC DCCC CM
Thousands M MM MMM IV V VI VII VIII IX
Ten thousands X XX XXX XL L LX LXX LXXX XC
Hundred thousands C CC CCC CD D DC DCC DCCC CM

After seeing this table, roman numerals appeared pretty simple. However, a thought crossed my mind. How I will write 21890 in roman numerals?

M – thousand

so, should I write 21 times M to denote 21,000.  Are romans so dumb that they didn’t thought more than 21,000. Ofcourse, they had more soldiers than 21,000 in roman army?

another question: Second, what was the size of roman army at different times? But I would think abt it later.

Right now, I’ve to focus only on roman numerals. I discovered  MMM CM XC IX (3,999) is the largest number possible without choosing overlines. Now, I guess romans ran out of symbols for numeric system. So, they started drawing overlines on the existing symbol. So, they decided to overline above existing numbers to denote it is thousand number

__
IV – 4000
__                 __                    __                        __                        __
V –  5000 , X – 10000,  C  – 100,000 ,  D – 500,000,  M -1000,000

So, back to question, how I’ll write 21,890.

___
XX DCCC XC

I’m now impressed by Roman numeral skills, I’m moving to another topic.

Leave a Reply

